Visualizza la navigazione

MUSIC WITH A VIEW – Sperimentazioni d’archi

Sunday 12 Of September 2021 - 18:30, The Philosophers' Garden

Just three instruments and just four composers: a real challenge! Going beyond Beethoven’s classical-like, impetuous writing style in String Trio in G Major, Op. 9, No.1 (which includes one of the most famous themes in Piano Concerto No. 5, known as the “Emperor Concerto”): here, Beethoven is a kingpin around which the other works in this concert programme revolve. The six Bagatelles for solo piano will take on new shades with the fascinating language of Mauro Montalbetti, who reinterprets them for a string trio; the notes of Sonata K519 by Domenico Scarlatti and Variations on the Theme of Moses by Niccolò Paganini, revisited by the skilled hand of Andrea Damiano Cotti, will sing not with keys and voice, but with bows on strings… Through the string trio, we will explore, experiment, and discover new horizons!


Trio Quodlibet
Vittorio Sebeglia violin
Virginia Luca viola
Fabio Fausone cello


D. Scarlatti (1685 ‐ 1757)
Sonata in F minor K. 519
Allegro Vivacissimo
Transcription by Andrea Damiano Cotti for Trio Quodlibet

F. J. Haydn (1732 ‐ 1809)
Divertimento in si bemolle maggiore, Hob.V:8
Adagio; Minuet-Trio; Finale Presto

L. van Beethoven (1770 ‐ 1827)
Streichtrio in G Major, Op. 9
Adagio ‐ Allegro con brio; Adagio,
ma non tanto e cantabile; Scherzo
Allegro; Presto

N. Paganini (1782 ‐ 1840)
Theme with bravura Variations
on the prayer-aria “Dal tuo stellato soglio”
from Moses in Egypt by Gioacchino Rossini
Transcription by Andrea Damiano Cotti for Trio Quodlibet



In cooperation with Touring Club Italiano, Fondo Ambiente Italiano, and Teatro Stabile dell’Umbria

Concert organised by the Brunello and Federica Cucinelli Foundation as part of the Comitato AMUR’s “Music with a View” festival, with Le Dimore del Quartetto and Associazione Dimore Storiche Italiane.